#MusherLife

wolfmoonjournal:

So, as I’ve mentioned many times before, having a sled dog team goes beyond just running them in the Winter. It’s a 365-day-a-year commitment and we work with them just as much in the Summer, if in slightly different ways.

This past weekend, since Spring is well underway, I cleaned all the straw out of the doghouses…with a little help from my friends!

Once I removed the straw, I let the houses air out for a while and created a great big pile of straw which I then raked out of the kennel.

What a big and exciting straw pile!

Once the houses aired out a while, I put in the Summer bedding of cedar shavings.

It makes for a nice bedding and smells fantastic.

Last, but not least, I spread the epic pile of used straw out in the area of the free-run yard where I am trying to reseed the grass. We’ll see how that works out.

Ride at Own Risk 👉 Caution: Leaving a comment on wp makes your e.mail address visible to that sites admin

